Our Blog

"Eat, Drink and Be Merry!"

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Wednesday, December 02, 2015
by: Ana Maria Muñiz-Leen, M.D. (/ana maria-muniz-leen) “Eat, drink, and be merry!:” it’s a phrase with biblical origins and a mandate for the holidays, but living up  ..

Eating Guilt Free Through the Holidays

Emy Fernandez - Tuesday, November 17, 2015
by: Emy Fernandez, MBA, Life and Health Coach (/emy-fernandez) With the end of the year holiday fun, also comes stress. We stress over catching up on work before taking time off, we stress ov ..

The More Things Change the More They Stay the Same

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Tuesday, November 10, 2015
by: Todd D. Giardina, Psy.D. (/todd-giardina) November 13th is Sadie Hawkin’s Day. This seems like a silly tradition to continue, in this day and age. Sadie Hawkin’s Day (and related d ..

To Feel Or Not to Feel

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Tuesday, October 06, 2015
by: Mirta C. Pont, LCSW (/mirta-pont) Many people that come to therapy are terrified of feeling. They suffer from anxiety and/or depression. When we finally identify the root of their present ..

10 Ways to Manage Symptoms of Chronic Pain

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Thursday, September 17, 2015
by: Todd D. Giardina, Ph.D. (/todd-giardina) September is designated as pain awareness month. With that in mind, it seems fitting that a pain psychologist offer some advice on how to manage the di ..

Domestic Violence and its Indicators

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Thursday, September 03, 2015
by: Oscar Gomezese, LMFT (/oscar-gomezese) Domestic violence (DV) is a systemic and coercive pattern of behaviors that is intended to gain power and control over one’s intimate partner throu ..

The Intimacy Conundrum

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Monday, August 17, 2015
by: Carolina Pataky, LMFT (/carolina-pataky) What is this explosive feeling filled with excitement that lasts but a moment and leaves you craving for more? Some people want to sleep right after be ..

Dealing with Bullying? Tips for Kids and Teens!

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Friday, August 14, 2015
by: Stephanie Gosset, LMHC (/stephanie-gosset) If you’ve ever been bullied, you know how bad it feels. Bullying is a big problem and it can lead to low self esteem, poor body image, self har ..

Vulnerability, A Weakness or a Strength?

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Thursday, July 16, 2015
by: Courtney Pastner (/courtney-pastner) Many of us have heard of the word vulnerability but what does it really mean? I have heard from many clients that they thought being vulnerable meant being ..

Kids - Are They Learning From Their Mistakes?

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Tuesday, May 26, 2015
by: Michelle Gonzalez, Psy. D., LMHC (/michelle-gonzalez) As parents, we often forget that kids are kids and they will learn from their mistakes. The question is, how do we make sure our children  ..