Our Blog

The Intimacy Conundrum

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Monday, August 17, 2015
by: Carolina Pataky, LMFT (/carolina-pataky) What is this explosive feeling filled with excitement that lasts but a moment and leaves you craving for more? Some people want to sleep right after be ..

Dealing with Bullying? Tips for Kids and Teens!

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Friday, August 14, 2015
by: Stephanie Gosset, LMHC (/stephanie-gosset) If you’ve ever been bullied, you know how bad it feels. Bullying is a big problem and it can lead to low self esteem, poor body image, self har ..

Vulnerability, A Weakness or a Strength?

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Thursday, July 16, 2015
by: Courtney Pastner (/courtney-pastner) Many of us have heard of the word vulnerability but what does it really mean? I have heard from many clients that they thought being vulnerable meant being ..

Kids - Are They Learning From Their Mistakes?

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Tuesday, May 26, 2015
by: Michelle Gonzalez, Psy. D., LMHC (/michelle-gonzalez) As parents, we often forget that kids are kids and they will learn from their mistakes. The question is, how do we make sure our children  ..

The Relationship Equation

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Monday, May 11, 2015
by: Todd D. Giardina, Ph.D. (/todd-giardina) Communication is key. I find that whether I am working with couples in therapy, consulting on workplace disputes, or helping physicians convey com ..

EMDR - A Brief Overview

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Wednesday, April 29, 2015
by: Mirta C. Pont, LCSW (/mirta-pont) EMDR (Eye Movement Desensitization Reprocessing) is a “science-validated approach” that gives people a new perspective and understanding of their  ..

Your Kids and Alcohol

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Monday, April 27, 2015
by: Oscar Gomezese, LMFT (/oscar-gomezese) Alcohol is the substance of choice for many underage children. It is estimated that one third of youth begin to drink before the age of 13. Research also ..

Perfectionism Isn't So Perfect For Us

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Monday, April 06, 2015
by: Courtney Pastner, RMFTI (/courtney-pastner) The following is a definition of perfectionism: Perfectionism is characterized by a person's striving for flawlessness and setting excessively  ..

Trauma: Do I Suffer From It and Is There Help?

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Monday, March 23, 2015
by: Maria Garcia-Larrieu, Psy. D. (/maria-garcia-larrieu) Recently, the press has focused on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), which is the result of an incident where the individual has ..

Do You Find It Difficult to Talk About Sex Topics With Your Children?

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Tuesday, March 10, 2015
by: Stephanie Gosset, LMHC (/stephanie-gosset) If you feel awkward or uncomfortable, you are definitely not alone. For most parents, sex topic discussions are one of the most complex and emot ..