Our Blog

Embrace Your Body: 10 steps to better body image for larger bodied women

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Wednesday, September 05, 2018
By Lisa Jimenez, LMHC (/lisa-jimenez) Licensed Mental Health Counselor Everyone knows that feeling. You wake up, look in the mirror, and don’t like what you see. Bad body image, its the ..

The Benefits of Music Education

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Wednesday, August 29, 2018
By Debora Sanchez, Founder and Director Encore Academy of the Arts “A large number of scientific studies have found that music education improves our cognitive and brain functio ..

Back to School from a Grandmother’s Point of View – My Second Chance

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Wednesday, August 22, 2018
By Emy Fernandez, MBA (/emy-fernandez), Life and Heath Coach As we approached the start of a new school year, I was excited. Excited because it was time to spend time once again with my grand ..

Helping Your Child with Divorce

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Wednesday, August 15, 2018
By Stephanie Gosset (/stephanie-gosset), Licensed Mental Health Counselor Back to school season can be stressful for some parents, but it is more complicated when you are going through a sepa ..

Back to School Challenge

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Wednesday, August 08, 2018
By Lisa Jimenez, LMHC (/lisa-jimenez) Licensed Mental Health Counselor With school right around the corner, I’m sure many of you are beginning to think about the mental and physical pre ..

Back to School for the Adult You

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Wednesday, August 01, 2018
By Mirta Pont, LCSW (/mirta-pont), Certified EMDR Therapist In my last blog, “Parenting your college age child,” I spoke about how to shift your parenting style when your child  ..

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly and How our Kids are Affected

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Wednesday, July 25, 2018
By Nicole Herdocia-Oria, RMFTI, MS (/nicole-herdocia-oria) At times it is easy to be negatively affected by insignificant stressors because we internalize and allow them to alter our moods. Oft ..

Parenting: The College Age Years

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Wednesday, July 18, 2018
By Mirta Pont, LCSW, (/mirta-pont) Certified EMDR Therapist Many articles are written with the focus on parenting young children or adolescents; however, there seems to be a void of informati ..

The Art of Purposeful Parenting

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Wednesday, July 11, 2018
By Sunny Khachatryan (/sunny-khachatryan), PH. D., LMHC, CAP Licensed Mental Health Counselor & Doctor in Psychology Purposeful Parenting is significant because it gives parents the opp ..

Calling All Parents…

Coral Gables Counseling Center - Wednesday, July 04, 2018
By Ricardo Sardiña, LMHC (/ricardo-sardina) Licensed Mental Health Counselor This blog goes out to all parents, single parents, grandparents, adoptive parents, foster parents, and guar ..